Breaking Promises | One-Word Prompt

If you’ve read my blog post, As Graceful As A Ballerina, you would know how much my younger self hated any club I was signed up to. So you can imagine the horror on my face when I heard my mother on the phone signing me up for Brownies!

If you don’t know what Brownies is, it’s a club for girls to take part in art, crafts and adventure related activities. They are also awarded various badges for completing good deeds.

Truthfully, I don’t make many promises, mainly for the fear of not being able to stick to them. Though, when joining Brownies, each girl is asked to make the same promise and site it to the group by heart:

I promise that I will do my best,

to be true to myself and develop my beliefs

to serve the Queen and my community

to help other people and to keep the Brownie Guide Law.

I sited the promise fair and square in front of the Brownies. Though unfortunately it was short lived as I quit the club just a few weeks later, walking away with only one badge and a broken promise!

Image from Pixabay

 

 

Leave a Reply

