A Childhood of Mythical Figures | One-Word Prompt

When we were younger, I’m sure we all believed in mythical figures, whether it was Santa, The Tooth Fairy or even The Easter Bunny. I was always fascinated about how Santa could possibly visit the whole world in one night, or how The Tooth Fairy was able to collect our teeth in exchange for money.

Every Christmas Eve night I just knew I would be too excited to sleep, not just because of Christmas Day, but also because of Santa’s annual visit. I remember one year being so sure that I heard his sleigh pull up to my street and his boots crunching on the ground. I didn’t want to spoil the surprise so I shut my eyes tight and when I opened them my empty stocking was gone from my room. When I woke up the next morning I had a stocking full of gifts. Of course after being told the news that my parents were actually Santa, it had me extremely disappointed, and me being a kid, even a little annoyed!

Though looking back, even though The Tooth Fairy and Santa are not real, it was extremely fun to believe in their existence and it added that extra bit of joy to my childhood. I’m very grateful for that.

Image from Pixabay

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. When I was really young I cried a lot when I found Santa never exist and I cried when I found website which let me sent a very long letter to Santa and sent email to my mom to pay–for letter back to me, I love your post, Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your story. I have similar memories about Santa and Christmas Eve.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

